may 2018

20may19:30SÓN – Copland UnwrappedSÓN bring Copland's eternally popular ballet to life with extracts, exploration and a complete performance

Event Details

David Owen Norris presenter
SÓN Southampton’s professional orchestra
Robin Browning conductor

Copland Appalachian Spring

SÓN continue their popular Unwrapped series with a performance of American composer Aaron Copland’s much-loved Appalachian Spring in its original 13-instrument version. Once again the orchestra is joined in the first half by pianist and BBC broadcaster David Owen Norris, who leads the audience through a fascinating exploration of this great musical masterwork. Copland began composing Appalachian Spring almost 75 years to the day before this performance, and it has gone on to become one of his most famous scores. SÓN and Owen Norris delve into its history and creation, exploring dance rhythms and famous musical themes, including Simple Gifts – well known to UK audiences as the melody to the Lord of the Dance.

Find out more about the name ‘Appalachian Spring

Stunning… they play with passion and commitment. John Suchet


(Sunday) 19:30


Turner Sims

Salisbury Road, Southampton SO17 1BJ


the són project[email protected]

Turner SimsSalisbury Road, Southampton SO17 1BJ

  1. Chelmsford Sinfonietta (live) - conductor Robin Browning Mozart: Symphony No 40 (Allegro Molto) 7:39
  2. SÓN (live) - conductor Robin Browning Sibelius: Impromptu for Strings 5:36
  3. Olivia Robinson & members of BBC SO - conductor Robin Browning Raymond Warren: In My Childhood (mvt 5 "Apple Blossom") 6:46
  4. SÓN (live) - conductor Robin Browning Sibelius: Entr'acte from Pelleas et Melisande 3:01
  5. Chelmsford Sinfonietta (live) - conductor Robin Browning Mozart: Marriage of Figaro Overture 4:44
  6. Olivia Robinson & UH Ensemble - conductor Robin Browning John Hopkins: In the White Hours (mvt 6 "Morning at Last") 4:16
  7. conductor Robin Browning Holst: Lullay my Liking 3:57